12-16 October 2020
Zoom Meeting
Europe/London timezone

School Management Team

Prof Carsten P Welsch is Head of Liverpool’s physics department and Director of LIV.DAT. As coordinator of five European training networks and director of more than a dozen international Schools at locations all across Europe, he is one of the most experienced postgraduate training coordinators in Europe. He will have overall responsibility for the School, its training programme and lead the complementary skills aspects. 


Dr David Hutchcroft is Deputy Director of LIV.DAT and a member of the University of Liverpool’s Particle Physics group. He has extensive experience in HPC and grid computing and has been leading physics data analysis projects for many years. He will coordinate the scientific programme and the organization of the programming workshops/computing competition. He will also act as primary link to all speakers during the week.


Professor Chris A Collins is also a Deputy Director of LIV.DAT and Professor of Cosmology within the Astrophysics Research Institute (ARI) of LJMU where he was Head of Institute between November 2016 and December 2019. He will lead on the astrophysics aspects of the School and in particular on the live astronomy evening session on the Wednesday where participants can use Liverpool’s robotic telescope - on of the largest fully robotic telescopes in the world - to explore the night sky.


Dr Theun van Veen  is LIV.DAT centre manager and a member of the QUASAR Group's Project T.E.A.M., based at the Cockcroft Institute. He will provide support throughout the School, in particular in view of external communication and press, as well as the organization of the planned social events.


Dr Laura Harkness-Brennan is a Reader in the University of Liverpool Nuclear Physics group and LIV.DAT Training Coordinator. She will lead on the scientific poster session and associated contribution booklet, as well as on the Big Data panel discussion.


Constantinos Astreos is IPS Fellow and Business Development Manager at the University of Liverpool and based in the physics department. He will oversee industry contributions and provide the link to existing industry partners.